

Midwestern Pavement Preservation Partnership

Chicago Marriott Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg, Illinois October 26-29, 2009

Business Meeting Minutes

Thursday, October 29, 2009

LaDonna Rowden called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

Meeting Minutes

Copies of the October 2008 meeting minutes were distributed with the meeting materials.

Ms. Zimmerman (APT, Inc.) moved to approve the minutes, Mr. Olson (MN DOT) seconded, and the motion was approved.

Secretary Treasurers Report

Kevin Kennedy, Secretary/Treasurer of the Midwestern Pavement Preservation Partnership (MPPP) provided members with a financial report which showed a current amount (prior to this meeting) of \$9,726.86 available for future initiatives.

Mr. Watson (Manitoba) moved to accept the report, Mr. Stone (MO DOT) seconded, and the motion was approved.

There was a general discussion of the costs associated with having training in conjunction with the partnership meeting. The TSP2 program cannot pay for the training or the extra travel costs associated with it, the funding must come from the provincial/industry side of the partnership. There was an agreement that training is desired and that the group should work with Chris Newman, of the FHWA, to determine what training options may be available.

By-Laws

Copies of the by-laws were distributed with the meeting materials.

There was a general discussion of the By-laws and several revisions were requested:

Mr. Olson (MN DOT) moved to Revise Article IV – Section 2 to list 9 directors instead of 10. Mr. Kennedy (MI DOT) seconded, and the motion was approved.

Ms. Zimmerman (APT, Inc.) moved to add the words "or Provincial" in Section 2 page 3, second paragraph. Mr. Stone (MO DOT) seconded, and the motion was approved.

Ms. Zimmerman (APT, Inc.) moved to amend section 4, second paragraph to include the words "non officer" at the beginning of the sentence and change Steering Committee to Directors in the 3rd line of the paragraph. Mr. Durante (Pavement Technology, Inc.) seconded, and the motion was approved.

Mr. Shields (IN DOT) moved to modify the By-Laws Section 2 to include the wording "shall be full/state provincial members". Mr. Olson (MN DOT) seconded, and the motion was approved.

Election of Officers

Secretary/Treasurer

Len Frass (Saskatchewan) was nominated by Mr. Olson (MN DOT). There were no other nominees. Mr. Olson moved to accept the nomination, which passed by voice vote.

Director – Local Agency

Mr. Baker nominated Pablo Faillaci (McHenry County) to fill a vacant Local Agency Directorship. Mr. Faillaci's election was approved.

Director – Industry Representative

There were three nominations for the Industry Representative position. After voting by Industry members, Ms. Katie Zimmerman (AP Tech) was elected.

Directorships - Public Agency

Mr. Shields (IN DOT) nominated Bill Thompkins (IN DOT) for the Public Agency position. Mr. Thompkins election was approved.

New Business

Testing Data

There was a general discussion on the need to share testing data on various products. Todd Shields agreed to start a task group to facilitate this with the various partnership agencies. He will be assisted by Mike Samueloff and Colin Durante.

Industry Fee

The group discussed the various fees for the Industry contribution to the partnerships that the different regional groups accesses and the history of the fees. Mr. Durante (Pavement Technology, Inc.) motioned that the Midwestern

Pavement Preservation Partnership Industry Member fee be made \$1,000/per year for continuity with other groups. Kevin Kennedy (MI DOT) seconded the motional and it passed by voice vote.

Next Meeting Location and Date

Mr. John Calvert (Pavement Technology, Inc.) moved to have the meeting the last full week of October. Mr. Olson (MN DOT) seconded and the motion was approved with Des Moines, Iowa picked as the preferred location.

Rotation of Officers

Ms. Rowden thanked everyone for attending. The rotation of officers then took place with Mr. Shields becoming chair; Mr. Kennedy, vice-chair; Mr. Frass, Secretary/Treasurer and Ms. Rowden becoming immediate past-chair. Ms. Zimmerman thanked Ms. Rowden for her service as chair of the group.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 11:30 a.m.