

Rocky Mountain Pavement Preservation Partnership Business Meeting Minutes

Boise, ID October 21th, 2010

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Mr. Lloyd Neeley, Utah DOT, opened the business meeting by thanking everyone for their participation in the Partnership, after which he reported on the membership and contributions to the AASHTO Transportation System Preservation Technical Services Program (TSP2).

By-Laws and Organization Name Change

After a general discussion of the addition of western states into the partnership and the consequent need to modify the By-laws, Mr. Mafiz Mian (AZ DOT) moved to modify the By-laws to reflect the additional states. Mr. Steve Olson (CO DOT) seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

There was a thorough discussion of what to call the expanded Partnership, after which Mr. Olson made a motion to change the name to **"The Rocky Mountain West Pavement Preservation Partnership"**. The motion was seconded by Mr. Quint Davis (Simon Contracting) and unanimously approved.

Next, Mr. Neeley made a motion to change Section 3 of the By-laws, replacing the "Tribal Agency Member" with an additional "At-Large Member". Mr. Pat Kennedy (City of Denver) seconded the motion which was approved unanimously.

There was a general discussion about adding an Ex-officio member for the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), but no action was taken.

Members then discussed the merit of necessitating that two of the three officers of the Partnership be state DOT affiliates. Mr. Neeley moved to change the wording of Section 5 of the By-laws to remove the words "at least". Ms. Anita Bush (NV DOT) seconded the motion which was approved unanimously.

Members then discussed Section 4 of the By-laws which referred to a member in good standing. After a general discussion, Mr. Olson proposed striking the entire paragraph. Mr. Tom Roberts (MT DOT) seconded and the motion was approved unanimously.

Ms. Patte Hahn will revise the By-laws and distribute the revision to the Steering Committee for comment.

Election of Directors and Officers

Several vacant Director positions were discussed and the following nominations and elections were made:

State DOT Position – Anita Bush (NV DOT) was nominated by Mr. Kennedy and Tom Roberts (MT DOT) was nominated by Mr. Neeley. After a vote, Ms. Bush was elected.

At-Large Position – Tom Roberts (MT DOT) was nominated by Mr. Neeley and Ryan Proctor (Ergon) was nominated by Ms. Bush. After a vote, Mr. Roberts was elected.

Vice-Chair – Pat Kennedy (City of Denver) and Anita Bush (NV DOT) were nominated. After a vote, Mr. Kennedy was elected.

Secretary/Treasurer – Anita Bush (NV DOT), the sole nominee, was elected unanimously.

Participation in a National Pavement Preservation Meeting

 FP^2 Inc. has proposed having a National Pavement Preservation Meeting in 2012 and inviting the four regional partnerships to attend. After a short discussion, Mr. Davis made a motion to approve the participation of the RMWPPP in the 2012 National Meeting. Mr. Olson seconded the motion which was approved unanimously.

Next Meeting Dates and Location

Members then discussed the possibility of moving the next annual meeting to the spring of 2011 instead of the fall of 2011. Mr. Davis proposed having the meeting next fall as scheduled and moving to a spring schedule after the national 2012 meeting. Mr. Neeley supported moving the next meeting forward to the spring of 2011, if the TSP2 panel would approve the change. Ms. Bush volunteered to host the meeting in Nevada in either the spring or fall of 2011.

Mr. Olson motioned to have the next meeting in April 2011, in Reno, Nevada. Ms. Bush seconded the motion which was approved unanimously.

Mr. Neeley closed the meeting by thanking everyone for their attendance, after which members thanked Mr. Davis for his service as Chair of the Partnership for the past year.