

# **Southeast Bridge Preservation Partnership**

Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk, Virginia 2-4 April 2013

2013 Business Meeting Minutes

# Thursday, 4 April 2013

The fourth annual business meeting of the Southeast Bridge Preservation Partnership began with SEBPP Board Chair, **Mr. Danny Tullier** (Louisiana DOTD) calling the meeting to order.

The first order of business was the introduction of Board members. **Mr. Tullier** thanked **Mr. Ed Welch (NCPP)** and **Ms. Darlene Lane (NCPP)** for facilitating the meeting. He also thanked **Mr. John Hooks (NCPP)** for compiling data for the Action Committees. **Mr. Welch** gave Action Committee updates in the following areas:

- Decks,
- Painting, and
- Performance Measures.

**Mr. Hooks**, in presenting the Board with a summary of his notes from the recent Peer Exchanges made the following observations:

- **Decks:** Joints leak low bid method.
- **Washing decks:** There was little uniformity of practice, although some practices were notable.

- **National Meetings:** Call for presentations from state DOTs. A solicitation will be sent to key members of the four Bridge Preservation Partnerships in an effort to obtain at least 30 more presentations.
- **Painting:** Update from **Mr. Hooks'** notes.

**Paint Working Group** – This group will continue its work and **Mr. Jeff Pouliotte** (**Florida DOT**) agreed to develop additional information for moving forward. **Mr. Pouliotte** appealed for more participation from members representing state DOTs.

**Deck Working Group** – This group will continue its activities.

**Performance Measures Working Group** – This committee's activities will be placed on hold until the FHWA clarifies how it will deal with the Performance Measures mandated by MAP-21. This issue will be re-visited at the Bridge National Meeting scheduled for 2014.

There were no requests for new working groups.

# **Treasurer's Report**

Mr. Andy Doyle (Georgia DOT) reported a Treasury Closing Balance of \$39,191.51.

**Mr. Tullier** thanked **Mr. Aaron Algrim (NCPP)** for his work recording the meeting presentations and videos. This material will be posted to the TSP-2 Website for future reference.

Mr. Tullier then made the following points:

- The Bridge Preservation Partnership should be as broad as possible and he urged greater local agency participation.
- There were now 29+ National Industry Members. A list of the National Members is displayed prominently on the TSP•2 Website.
- It is important for agencies to recognize the value of the Partnership's activities by making the solicited voluntary AASHTO contributions.
- Meeting planners rely on feedback, so it is important to complete and return the evaluation forms.

# **Election of Officers**

# <u>Chair</u>

**Mr. Richard Kerr (Florida DOT)** nominated **Mr. Jeffrey Milton (Virginia DOT)** as Chair. **Mr. Pouliotte** seconded the nomination which was approved.

# Vice-Chair

**Mr. Richard Kerr** nominated **Mr. Andy Doyle** (Georgia DOT) as Vice-Chair. **Mr. Pouliotte** seconded the nomination which was approved.

# Secretary / Treasurer

Mr. Milton nominated Mr. Keith Ramsey (Texas DOT) in absentia as Secretary / Treasurer. Mr. Kerr seconded the nomination which was approved unanimously subject to Mr. Ramsey's willingness to accept the position.

The Board decided to keep the position of Local Agency Director open pending interest from a local agency. In the absence of any interest, **Mr. Dan Muller** (**North Carolina**) would fill the position.

**Mr. Earl Dubin (Bridge Engineer, FHWA North Carolina Division)** will become the FHWA's Regional Representative.

The election resulted in the following Committee Structure of Directors and Officers:

# **Southeast Bridge Preservation Partnership**

Fourth Annual Meeting – Norfolk, Virginia 2-4 April 2013

# **Steering Committee**

As approved by the membership – 4 April 2013

### Officers

Jeffrey Milton	Virginia DOT	Chair
Andy Doyle	Georgia DOT	Vice-Chair Agency
Jim Edgerton	Agile Assets, Inc.	Vice-Chair Industry
Keith Ramsey	Texas DOT	Secretary/Treasurer

#### Directors

Jim Edgerton	Agile Assets, Inc.	Industry Organization Director
Jeremy Shafer	Inspect Tech	Industry Organization Director
Eric Christie	Alabama DOT	At-Large Director
Jeff Milton	Virginia DOT	State Agency Director
Andy Doyle	Georgia DOT	State Agency Director
Dan Muller	North Carolina DOT	State Agency Director
Keith Ramsey	Texas DOT	State Agency Director
John Sobanjo	Florida State University	Academic Director
Hector Laureano	PR Highways & Trans Authority	State Agency Director

## **Ex-Officio**

(non-voting)

Earl Dubin	FHWA	<b>Regional Representative</b>
Danny Tullier	Louisiana DOT & Development	Past Chair

#### **Future Meetings**

Mr. Tullier listed the following locations for future meetings:2014National Meeting in Orlando, Florida

- Alabama 2015
- Puerto Rico 2016
- West Virginia 2017
- National Meeting Tennessee 2018
- 2019

<u>Adjournment</u> The meeting was adjourned.